Talk Listen ACT Awards Process

1. Nominate student/school professionals by filling out the form (100 words or less) by April 15.

2. Submissions will be judged by a panel of individuals selected by the Tom Karlin Foundation. All panel decisions are final.

3. Award recipients will be announced in late April, with recipients recognized and awards presented on May 2.

Congratulations 2016 Talk Listen ACT Award Winners!

School Professionals:

  • Johanna Fredenberg, Shawnee Mission South
  • Kelly Gill, Shawnee Mission West
  • Mary Lea Kieffer, Shawnee Mission West
  • Anne Flora, Shawnee Mission West
  • Aubrey Gilhaus, Shawnee Mission West
  • Steve Loe, Shawnee Mission West
  • Angie Rawalk, Tomahawk Elementary


  • Lexie Allen, Shawnee Mission West
  • Kena Flood, St. Thomas Acquinas
  • Brooke Foster, Gardner-Edgerton
  • Abbie Gartland, St. Thomas Acquinas
  • Jeffery Goff, Shawnee Mission West
  • Jay Hawkins, Shawnee Mission West
  • Shyanne McGown, Gardner Edgerton
  • Elizabeth Roth, St. Thomas Acquinas





Due 4/15/18

The purpose of the Talk Listen ACT Awards is to recognize student, school professionals, and community members who have made a positive impact in the lives of others.

People who Talk, Listen, and ACT make a difference in their school and/or community because of their kindness, compassion, and willingness to reach out to others.


- School Professionals: any school staff are eligible: e.g., teacher, coach, counselor, staff

- Students

- Community members

TLA Cropped